Warrington contingent at the Provincial bowls

Pictured are: Various Warrington players.

The West Lancashire Masonic Charity Bowling Tournament at The Tetley’s Club was hosted by the Warrington Group and was well supported by bowlers, spectators and helpers. The weather this year was initially warm which changed to hot and sunny before lunch time. The day was well organised by Trevor Barber, the secretary, Alan Jones, assistant secretary and Len Hart, treasurer who was eventually the winner.

The event set off on time with both greens being bowled and even on this first round the competition was close, but five of the Warrington players pulled through the first round with great skill and determination. Thus John Gregory, Alan Bristow, Stan Jackson, Geoff Wright and Chris Eyres proceeded to the second round. Andrew Anderson and Alan Greggs had staunch opposition and were not quite able to make it to 21, but both gained scores well into the high teens, hence no disgrace on any of the Warrington lads!

The second round of the Cowper Trophy was underway and the first round of the Cyril McGibbon Trophy was started which was for players who were not successful in their first round of the Cowper Trophy.

Warrington players still in the Cowper Trophy included John Gregory, who struggled but still produced a good score, but lost out to the eventual winner of the Cowper Trophy. Alan Bristow similarly fell at the same point but with no disgrace with a similar score against a very good all round bowler. Geoff Wright had an unfortunate draw against Harry Jones who had won the Cowper Trophy for the past two years. Stan Jackson also went out at this point after facing a formidable opponent.

Pictured are: Jonathan Heaton (left) presenting Chris Eyres with his eighth prize in the Cowper Trophy

However, Chris Eyres by this time was just finding his feet and won to 17. When he came off he said he was very surprised but happy! He also had a similar score in his next round and won to 15 saying he was even more surprised but even happier! Unfortunately, he was then drawn against Len Hart, who went on to win the Cowper. Chris was very happy to go so far, but was getting tired after four rounds of exceptional bowls.

Whilst in the Cyril McGibbon competition Alan Greggs lost out in the next round after a sterling effort and Andrew Anderson continued but was eventually beaten by the finalist.


Thus the two best Warrington bowlers were Andrew and Chris. Chris went on to gain the eighth prize in the Cowper Trophy of a wall clock for which he was very proud!

The full story can be found on the Provincial website.


Pictured from left to right, are: Geoff Wright, John Morton, Stan Jackson, John Gregory, Chris Eyres, Alan Bristow, Andrew Anderson, Andy Barton, Dave Anderson and Alan Greggs.


Story and pictures by John Starkey.